HAPPY NEW YEAR

2015 Happy New Year Strands Line Glow Dark BackgroundABC News photo

 

I resolve to be more compassionate and generous to all people this year by living truer to the principle of unconditional love as I am blessed to discern it from the life and teaching of Jesus Christ, the Prince of Peace.

New Year’s resolutions are justly viewed with skepticism because so often we fail to keep them. But this is a mistake. We should make more resolutions not less, and remake them every time we fail. The fault, after all, is not in the resolution but in what we do to keep them.

It takes between 3 to 6 weeks of consistent action for something new to become a habit. And, this is more difficult when trying without others for support and accountability.

Generally, resolutions represent our perceptions of being better persons, and the root of their failure lies in the frustration of the inevitable backslide.

I find I’m more successful when I focus on creating new habits rather than breaking old ones. So, I focus on the positives of new behavior that contradicts or steals the time from the old habit, and when I fail, as often as I fail, I recommit to my resolution again. How often will I repeat this? As often as it takes to accomplish my goal.

I am constantly recommiting to my writing. I’m by nature a night owl, but I’ve discovered I’m more successful if I write early in the morning. Getting to bed earlier is at the top of my resolution list again. I’ve already failed, but I am resolved never to give up because writing is my passion, and this will be the year I publish my novel.

So dismiss all cynical frustrations, and refresh old resolutions from losing weight to saving the world. And when you fail, remember your resolution is a response to your better self, and in the words of Kipling, “…if you can meet with triumph and disaster (a)nd treat those two imposters just the same;… (y)ours is the Earth and everything that’s in it,
And—which is more—you’ll be a Man my son!”

Happy New Year

Leave a Reply

